Cellars - Vétroz The Grands Crus - grands-crus.ch

  |  Home  |  FR  |  DE  |

Les Fils Maye - Clos de Balavaud

MOLDED BY HISTORY

For every bit of flatland or straightaway, so many curves and hairpin turns! So goes the life of Les Fils Maye, the Brothers Maye, which took root in 1889. The first train rolled into Sion in 1860. Léonid Maye recognized early what a boon the railway connection would mean. He set up business right across from the station in Riddes. The village was located at the gateway to the vineyards of Vétroz, Ardon, Chamoson, Leytron, Saillon, Fully, Charrat, Saxon, Riddes... All roads lead to Riddes.

He believed in himself and in his terroir. What more does it take to make others believe in you? The Maye family line continued with the establishment in 1937 of the company "Les Fils Maye SA" that we know today.

With about 40 employees today, Les Fils Maye remain true to their vocation. As the owners of some 30 hectares of vineyards spread among the finest plots, they are major players in winemaking from the harvests of the entire region.

The success of Les Fils Maye is inseparable from the quality of their wines. Connoisseurs hold their name in high esteem. The road is well marked. The centenary junction reminds us that the past holds prodigious implications for the future.

A PROMISED LAND

Every wine-growing region has its princes. In Valais, one of these bears the name "Clos de Balavaud." A Grand Cru that nothing, barring a seismic catastrophe, can dethrone. Because it owes its rank to the magic of the site, its geographic position and the nature of the soil. Careful attention to the vines, technological innovation and enology can produce a great wine, but never a grand cru. With a grand cru comes a personality, an aromatic profile and a subtle savor that each new vintage transforms. Truly a plot of land crisscrossed by the millennia, a promised land.

 
Clos de Balavaud
Les Fils Maye
P.A. Les Fils Maye S.A
1908 Riddes
Telephone : +41 (0) 27 305 15 00
Fax: : +41 (0) 27 305 15 01
 
Internet : http://www.maye.ch/
     
integration and CMS made by Web Design Xperience sàrl
design par www.bernardmoix.ch

Les caves - Les Grands Crus de Vétroz - grands-crus.ch

  |  Accueil  |  EN  |  DE  |

Les Fils Maye - Clos de Balavaud

LE MOULE DE L'HISTOIRE

Pour quelques bouts de plat et de route rectiligne, combien de virages et tournants en épingle à cheveux ? Ainsi va la vie des "Fils Maye", qui prend souche en 1889. Le premier train fait son entré à Sion en 1860. Léonide Maye veut profiter de l'aubaine que constitue une liaison ferroviaire. Il installe son entreprise à deux pas de la gare de Riddes. Le village est situé aux avant-postes des coteaux de Vétroz, Ardon, Chamoson, Leytron, Saillon, Fully, Charrat, Saxon, Riddes... Tous les chemins conduisent à Riddes.

Il avait foi en lui et en son terroir. En faut-il davantage pour que les autres vous fassent confiance? La lignée des Maye se poursuit avec, en 1937, la constitution de la société "LES FILS MAYE SA" que nous connaissons aujourd'hui.

Occupant une quarantaine de personnes, "LES FILS MAYE" demeurent fidèles à leur vocation. Propriétaires d'une trentaine d'hectares de vignes situées dans les plus beaux parchets, ils jouent un rôle important dans l'encavage des récoltes de toute la région.

Le succès des "FILS MAYE" est incrusté dans la qualité de leurs vins. Leur nom est estimé de tous les connaisseurs. La route est tracée. Le carrefour du centenaire nous rappelle que le passé est prodigue et certitudes d'avenir.

UNE TERRE PROVIDENTIELLE

Chaque vignoble a ses seigneurs. En Valais, l'un d'eux porte le nom de "Clos de Balavaud". Un grand cru que rien - sauf une catastrophe sismique - ne peut détrôner. Car son rang est donné par le génie du lieu : situation géographique et nature du sol. La qualité des soins, le progrès technique, l'oenologie peut produire un grand vin. Jamais un grand cru. De là naissent une personnalité, un bouquet d'arôme, une saveur subtile, que chaque année métamorphose. Oui, une terre charriée par les millénaires, vraiment providentielle.
 
Clos de Balavaud
Les Fils Maye
P.A. Les Fils Maye S.A
1908 Riddes
Téléphone : +41 (0) 27 305 15 00
Fax : +41 (0) 27 305 15 01
 
Internet : http://www.maye.ch/
     
integration and CMS made by Web Design Xperience sàrl
design par www.bernardmoix.ch